Skip to content

Apron Collecting. Kimono Making.

15 February 2010

Matt’s mother has gifted me another vintage, handmade apron that belonged to her mother. This one was worn to church volunteer functions. It’s in wonderful shape. I’m starting to develop quite the little apron collection. One day I’ll have to photograph all of them and put them into a flickr album. This one really is quite lovely. I think the springy green ric rack is my favorite part.

Matt had a birthday. So of course I HAD to make him something. He could use some new garb so I decided that I would help expand his garb wardrobe. I think this is the first piece of garb that I’ve made for him and we’ve been together for almost a year now.

The pattern is from Habitual. It is an adaptation of her children’s kimono pattern. It is a well done, simple, little pattern. I just used Matt’s measurements instead of the infant and toddler sizes. He really liked it and was completely surprised.┬áHe usually makes his own garb (he’s pretty crafty/handy too).

Right now I’m finishing up a pair of socks for my mother. They just need to be blocked. I’m also finishing up a sweater for her that I started back in July. I just needs to be blocked and seamed. It looks like I’ve got some blocking to do tonight!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

